Watch pro golf tournaments long enough and you’ll be amazed at some of the breaks players seem to get thanks to the construction of grandstands, hospitality tents, TV towers and more. In fact, it’s not all that unusual for tour pros to take temporary immovable obstructions (TIOs) into consideration when playing shots.

One recent example – and arguably the most outrageous we can remember – of a tour pro taking advantage of the free “line of sight” relief granted from a TIO came from Jordan Spieth at the Valero Texas Open in March. Trying to escape a dicey lie in a penalty area on the 18th hole at TPC San Antonio during the third round, Spieth purposely hit his third shot into the gutter of the clubhouse behind the green, knowing that building was not marked out-of-bounds. He got relief from the clubhouse, but that meant his ball was now behind a scoreboard on his line to the hole. That allowed him to take more free relief from this TIO, eventually giving him a clean shot into the green. As it turns out, he made a double-bogey on the par-5 hole, but he did give himself a par putt with all those crafty moves.

If you were watching or just read about it, you might be wondering why pros get free relief for stuff like that but you can’t move your ball without penalty when there’s an irrigation box or some other permanent structure between your ball and the hole.

Rule 16 outlines relief from abnormal course conditions. It covers what you can and can’t do when encountering immovable obstructions on the golf course. These include cement cartpaths, ball washers, snack bars – anything that is not out-of-bounds and when your ball is anywhere on the course except for a penalty area. The rules state that you are allowed one club-length of free relief (complete relief) from the obstruction so long as your ball isn’t any closer to the hole after the drop and that it’s in the general area of the course. This relief applies, however, only if the immovable obstruction interferes with your ball, stance or swing.

Rules Review: Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Notice we didn’t say “line of sight”.

Indeed, line-of-sight relief is available only with temporary immovable obstructions. The logic is that the temporary objects shouldn’t be there. And TIO relief requires a course/tournament, like those on the PGA Tour, having put Model Local Rule F-23 in place. That MLR states:

“TIOs (such as a grandstand or a tent) are not normally present and are not considered to be part of the challenge of playing the course. Because of their temporary nature, this Local Rule provides an additional relief option that is not allowed from immovable obstructions, although the player can still choose to treat the TIO as if it were an immovable obstruction and use the relief procedures available in Rule 16. The additional relief provided by this Local Rule includes the ability for a player to take relief when the TIO is located on the straight line between his or her ball and the hole (known as “line of sight relief”) by moving sideways, keeping the same distance from the hole, so that the TIO is no longer between the player’s ball and the hole (also known as moving along the “equidistant arc”).

“When a player takes relief from a TIO, whether under this Local Rule or the relief procedures in Rule 16, the player is guaranteed complete relief from physical interference. But only when relief is taken using the additional relief option under this Local Rule will the player be guaranteed complete relief from the TIO being on his or her line of sight.”

TIO relief was part of the discussion last week during the US Open at Pinehurst. Within minutes of each other during the first round, Bryson DeChambeau (on the fifth hole) and Scottie Scheffler (on the 16th) both received line-of-sight relief from a ShotLink tower on each hole. The tower itself is fairly narrow, but the triangle base is large enough that the USGA followed the PGA Tour’s lead and considered it a TIO ahead of the championship.

Golf fans on social media were up in arms that both players had much clearer shots after getting the relief, but they were just taking advantage of the rule.

“Sometimes you’re lucky, and sometimes you’re not,” DeChambeau said. “In that situation, I was very lucky.”

Rules officials agreed that the ShotLink Tower on the fifth hole was in DeChambeau’s line of sight during the first round of the US Open. So…

…he was allowed to take complete relief to the left of where his ball came to rest and had a clear second shot.

Reading this, you might wonder how often players consider a type of shot or line of play that they wouldn’t otherwise choose because they know there’s the potential they could get free relief from an otherwise messy situation. In other words, do players try to “bend” the Local Rule to move into a better position on the course?

We’re not saying it never happens, but rules officials also often deny TIO relief to a pro who might be trying to game the system. On the 18th hole during the final round of the US Open, after DeChambeau’s tee shot came to rest beside a root with the tree interfering with his backswing, he asked rules officials if the nearby grandstand could be considered a TIO. The official said no, that it wasn’t in his line of sight. DeChambeau had to play his awkward second shot, which wound up in a bunker 50 metres short of the green. That then led to his incredible sand shot that set up the four-footer for par that secured him the victory.

Sometimes, however, officials do accept the player’s request, as was the case for Jon Rahm at the 2023 Genesis Invitational. The Spaniard hit a wild drive on the third hole at Riviera Country Club during the third round, but got away with it because his ball landed in a staging area for tournament equipment. While you would probably be calling for a lost ball or an unplayable lie after a tee shot like that and maybe carding a double-bogey or worse, Rahm got relief and managed to save par on the hole.

The lesson here? Either get good enough at golf to play in tournaments or just shake your head and chalk up TIOs as yet another benefit of being a tour pro.


Can you be penalised for playing music on a golf course?

It’s one of the most loathed rules in golf. So why can’t you take free relief from a divot hole?

Our match is going to extra holes. How do handicap strokes apply now?

If I narrow my stance, I’ll be stepping on a sprinkler head. Can I take relief?

I took a drop the old way from shoulder height. Is that a penalty now?

My ball is just outside a ‘no-play zone’. Can I stand in it to hit my shot?

How can I possibly know ‘exactly’ where my ball crossed into a penalty area?

I know I saw his golf ball move when he removed that pine straw. Why wasn’t he penalised?

How you can drop your ball in the fairway after hitting it OB (and it’s perfectly legal)

Can you pass our 10-question rules quiz?

I’m hitting a 6-iron on a par 3. Can I use my driver to measure the teeing area?

Here’s a crafty (but legal) way to take relief and get your ball into a much better lie

What’s it called now? A quick refresher in rules terminology

When taking relief, when do I drop the ball and when should I place it?

My opponent is acting like a tool. Do the rules say anything about unsportsmanlike conduct?

Can I clean mud off my ball while playing a hole?

My ball’s in the water, and it’s on the move! What are my options?

My opponent looks like he’s whipper-snippering as he searches for a lost ball. When is that a penalty?

My ball is in bounds but an OB stake is interfering with my shot. Can I move the stake?

Can I be penalised for delaying play if I stop to get a hotdog or a drink?

When am I allowed to substitute a golf ball on the course?

I stopped my swing before hitting the ball. Does that count as a stroke?

I hit myself with my own ball. Embarrassment aside, is that a penalty?

What happens in a match when no one knows how to apply a rule?

My opponent stopped my ball from rolling on purpose. Is that a penalty?

While waiting to play a shot, my opponent is killing time by chipping a ball. Is this allowed?

My ball is in a penalty area, so what are my options for taking a drop?

Can I be penalised if someone else improves my lie?

Can you repair divot holes or pitch marks in your line before hitting a shot?

I just played the wrong ball. What do I do now?

What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?

What do you do when the tee markers aren’t lined up or are missing?

Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?

Crazy things that only happen in matchplay

Can you hit a provisional ball after hitting a shot into a penalty area?

Your club breaks, what are your options?

My opponent took a generous drop after hitting into a penalty area. Can he be DQ’d for that?

Can I use a long putter when measuring my relief area?

Our practice putting green sucks. Can I hit a few putts on the course before my round?

I had an extra club in my bag and I just teed off. Now what?

Can I move a stone if it improves my lie?

Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Do I get relief from aeration holes?

What does ‘known or virtually certain’ really mean?

Do you have to use a putter on the green?

You’re playing a Srixon. Two holes later it’s a Callaway. Is switching golf balls mid-round allowed?

I hit a horrible shot. I’m waaaaaay better off if I don’t find the ball. Can I just declare it lost?

I’m on the green, my opponent is not. Who’s away?

Is sneaking a peek in another player’s bag considered getting advice?

What do I do if my golf ball is stuck in a tree?

I conceded a putt. My opponent putted anyway and missed. Is that a penalty?

What is casual water and how do I play around it?

I thought my ball was lost and put another in play then found my first ball… which ball counts?

What happens if I can’t tell my provisional ball from my original?

What exactly is an embedded ball?

How do I find my ‘nearest point of relief’?

How long can I take to hit a shot?

Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?