[PHOTO: bgwalker]

You just played your tail off to come back from 3 down with five holes remaining and now the match is tied after 18. You and your long-time golf partner have been trying to take down this other pair for years and momentum is on your side. Extra holes, baby! A little sudden death to decide a $20 bet. Things are looking up.

But then it hits you… you remember that your opponents each get a handicap stroke on the first hole, and that’s exactly where you are heading for your extended match. Could it be possible that they get another handicap stroke when you play the first again? Even worse, it’s a par 5 that’s reachable in two.

The answer? Unfortunately for you, it’s yes. They each get a handicap stroke.

Rule 3.2c (2) in the Rules of Golf covers this scenario. For starters, understand that a match that is extended beyond 18 holes is not considered a new match (in strokeplay, a playoff is considered a new round under Rule 5.1). In matchplay, think of the first hole as the 19th hole if you’re going to extra holes and the second as the 20th, and so on.

Unless the committee says otherwise, all matches continue on the hole they started on. So if you started on the back nine, your first playoff hole would be the 10th, not the first. Same as if you had a shotgun start and your match started somewhere in the middle of the course. If you’re tied (remember, it’s not called “all square” anymore), you go back to the hole you started the round on to begin your extended match.

Rules Review: Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

It could be a case where your opponents get strokes on consecutive holes, definitely setting up a perceived advantage. But keep in mind, unless they are “sandbaggers”, they were getting those handicap strokes to make the match more equitable. You can roll your eyes about that, but if you agreed to play a match against them in the first place knowing they are getting too many strokes for their true ability, who’s fault is it that you’re now heading to extra holes at a huge disadvantage?

To head off this issue, keep in mind that you can always agree to call a match a tie after 18. It’s not particularly satisfying, but it’s within the rules.


If I narrow my stance, I’ll be stepping on a sprinkler head. Can I take relief?

I took a drop the old way from shoulder height. Is that a penalty now?

My ball is just outside a ‘no-play zone’. Can I stand in it to hit my shot?

How can I possibly know ‘exactly’ where my ball crossed into a penalty area?

I know I saw his golf ball move when he removed that pine straw. Why wasn’t he penalised?

How you can drop your ball in the fairway after hitting it OB (and it’s perfectly legal)

Can you pass our 10-question rules quiz?

I’m hitting a 6-iron on a par 3. Can I use my driver to measure the teeing area?

Here’s a crafty (but legal) way to take relief and get your ball into a much better lie

What’s it called now? A quick refresher in rules terminology

When taking relief, when do I drop the ball and when should I place it?

My opponent is acting like a tool. Do the rules say anything about unsportsmanlike conduct?

Can I clean mud off my ball while playing a hole?

My ball’s in the water, and it’s on the move! What are my options?

My opponent looks like he’s whipper-snippering as he searches for a lost ball. When is that a penalty?

My ball is in bounds but an OB stake is interfering with my shot. Can I move the stake?

Can I be penalised for delaying play if I stop to get a hotdog or a drink?

When am I allowed to substitute a golf ball on the course?

I stopped my swing before hitting the ball. Does that count as a stroke?

I hit myself with my own ball. Embarrassment aside, is that a penalty?

What happens in a match when no one knows how to apply a rule?

My opponent stopped my ball from rolling on purpose. Is that a penalty?

While waiting to play a shot, my opponent is killing time by chipping a ball. Is this allowed?

My ball is in a penalty area, so what are my options for taking a drop?

Can I be penalised if someone else improves my lie?

Can you repair divot holes or pitch marks in your line before hitting a shot?

I just played the wrong ball. What do I do now?

What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?

What do you do when the tee markers aren’t lined up or are missing?

Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?

Crazy things that only happen in matchplay

Can you hit a provisional ball after hitting a shot into a penalty area?

Your club breaks, what are your options?

My opponent took a generous drop after hitting into a penalty area. Can he be DQ’d for that?

Can I use a long putter when measuring my relief area?

Our practice putting green sucks. Can I hit a few putts on the course before my round?

I had an extra club in my bag and I just teed off. Now what?

Can I move a stone if it improves my lie?

Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Do I get relief from aeration holes?

What does ‘known or virtually certain’ really mean?

Do you have to use a putter on the green?

You’re playing a Srixon. Two holes later it’s a Callaway. Is switching golf balls mid-round allowed?

I hit a horrible shot. I’m waaaaaay better off if I don’t find the ball. Can I just declare it lost?

I’m on the green, my opponent is not. Who’s away?

Is sneaking a peek in another player’s bag considered getting advice?

What do I do if my golf ball is stuck in a tree?

I conceded a putt. My opponent putted anyway and missed. Is that a penalty?

What is casual water and how do I play around it?

I thought my ball was lost and put another in play then found my first ball… which ball counts?

What happens if I can’t tell my provisional ball from my original?

What exactly is an embedded ball?

How do I find my ‘nearest point of relief’?

How long can I take to hit a shot?

Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?