Although it has been in effect for five years now, there is an option for golfers who hit a ball out-of-bounds or lose their ball altogether that stills seems to cause some uneasiness on the golf course. Often the typical response when it’s mentioned is, “that must be illegal.”

Truth is, if you’re playing a casual round and Model Local Rule E-5 is in effect, there’s nothing stopping you from taking a drop at the fairway edge if your ball is lost or OB. The R&A and USGA added this local rule in 2019 to help speed up play. Now, you don’t get out of jail for free; taking this drop option comes with a two-stroke penalty. Still, it might be worth it if you don’t want to trudge back to the tee and apply the traditional stroke-and-distance-penalty procedure. And if you do go back, imagine seeing your next tee shot sail OB, too. That’s why this option is often pretty appealing.

It’s never a bad time for a refresher on how to take this penalty option. Before we go into detail, this is just a reminder that this option is not meant to be used in competitions involving highly skilled players. It can, however, be used in club competitions, if a golf club chooses to (best to check that with your club first). If you’ve ever watched someone in the group in front of you attempt to go back to replay from their previous location on a busy day at the course, you can appreciate why the Rules of Golf now contains this local rule.

OK, with that out of the way, here’s how to proceed under this rule. Remember, if your tee shot is lost or out-of-bounds and you want to drop at the fairway edge, you’re now hitting your fourth shot (not third). To use this local rule, you should drop in a large area between the point where the ball is estimated to have come to rest or gone out-of-bounds and the edge of the fairway of the hole being played. That spot cannot be nearer the hole. The R&A and USGA have designed the above handy graphic to help you understand where it’s OK to drop.


Can you pass our 10-question rules quiz?

I’m hitting a 6-iron on a par 3. Can I use my driver to measure the teeing area?

Here’s a crafty (but legal) way to take relief and get your ball into a much better lie

What’s it called now? A quick refresher in rules terminology

When taking relief, when do I drop the ball and when should I place it?

My opponent is acting like a tool. Do the rules say anything about unsportsmanlike conduct?

Can I clean mud off my ball while playing a hole?

My ball’s in the water, and it’s on the move! What are my options?

My opponent looks like he’s whipper-snippering as he searches for a lost ball. When is that a penalty?

My ball is in bounds but an OB stake is interfering with my shot. Can I move the stake?

Can I be penalised for delaying play if I stop to get a hotdog or a drink?

When am I allowed to substitute a golf ball on the course?

I stopped my swing before hitting the ball. Does that count as a stroke?

I hit myself with my own ball. Embarrassment aside, is that a penalty?

What happens in a match when no one knows how to apply a rule?

My opponent stopped my ball from rolling on purpose. Is that a penalty?

While waiting to play a shot, my opponent is killing time by chipping a ball. Is this allowed?

My ball is in a penalty area, so what are my options for taking a drop?

Can I be penalised if someone else improves my lie?

Can you repair divot holes or pitch marks in your line before hitting a shot?

I just played the wrong ball. What do I do now?

What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?

What do you do when the tee markers aren’t lined up or are missing?

Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?

Crazy things that only happen in matchplay

Can you hit a provisional ball after hitting a shot into a penalty area?

Your club breaks, what are your options?

My opponent took a generous drop after hitting into a penalty area. Can he be DQ’d for that?

Can I use a long putter when measuring my relief area?

Our practice putting green sucks. Can I hit a few putts on the course before my round?

I had an extra club in my bag and I just teed off. Now what?

Can I move a stone if it improves my lie?

Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Do I get relief from aeration holes?

What does ‘known or virtually certain’ really mean?

Do you have to use a putter on the green?

You’re playing a Srixon. Two holes later it’s a Callaway. Is switching golf balls mid-round allowed?

I hit a horrible shot. I’m waaaaaay better off if I don’t find the ball. Can I just declare it lost?

I’m on the green, my opponent is not. Who’s away?

Is sneaking a peek in another player’s bag considered getting advice?

What do I do if my golf ball is stuck in a tree?

I conceded a putt. My opponent putted anyway and missed. Is that a penalty?

What is casual water and how do I play around it?

I thought my ball was lost and put another in play then found my first ball… which ball counts?

What happens if I can’t tell my provisional ball from my original?

What exactly is an embedded ball?

How do I find my ‘nearest point of relief’?

How long can I take to hit a shot?

Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?