[PHOTO: J.D. Cuban]

One of the classic features of Augusta National, and hundreds of other courses around the world, is pine straw. Those long thing pine needles cover large swaths of ground bordering fairways and often come into play on wayward shots.

If you want to know how to deal with pine straw – and loose impediments in general – in terms of removing them and playing your next shot without penalty, read on.

In a moment we’ll address why you might have seen a ball move on a PGA Tour telecast as a result of someone moving loose impediments, and that golfer was not penalised. Before we do that, let’s cover a quick refresher on the do’s and don’ts of these natural objects.

If your ball is near pine straw, pebbles, leaves, grass blades, twigs – any natural objects that are not fixed or growing, solidly embedded in the ground or sticking to the ball – you’re allowed to move them anywhere on the golf course. Yep, that now includes penalty areas and bunkers. Some of this, like removing stones from bunkers or water hazards, etc. is a departure from the former Rules of Golf, so that might surprise you.

There are two exceptions to legally removing loose impediments:

1. Before replacing a ball that was lifted or moved from anywhere except the putting green, you cannot deliberately remove a loose impediment that, if moved before the ball was lifted or moved, would probably have caused the ball to move. The penalty for doing so is one stroke, but the loose impediment does not need to be replaced.

2. When a ball is in motion, you can’t remove a loose impediment that might affect where the ball comes to rest. This is true even if the action didn’t actually affect where the ball stopped.

Getting back to conditions at tournaments like last week’s Masters, or other pro events, you might see a player carefully investigating his lie in pine straw – crouching down, looking sideways and underneath the golf ball – trying to ascertain if he can slide a needle or two away from the ball without moving it. This is where confusion might set in on your end.

You might see said player remove some pine straw, even some needles that are a few inches away, and the ball might appear to move. You’d think that’s a penalty. And it might be. But the question you have to ask is: did the ball at rest leave its original spot and come to rest on any other spot? Furthermore, can that movement be seen by the naked eye or only when a high-resolution TV camera zooms in and catches it happening?

If you recall in March at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Wyndham Clark’s ball appeared to move as he soled his club behind it on the 18th hole of the third round. Turns out, Clark did nothing wrong, the ball returned to its original spot. However, this is a classic example of how players can find themselves mired in a social-media controversy for doing something that merely “appears” to be inappropriate. At the Masters, Xander Schauffele even spoke about the fact that he was nervous in this very kind of situation – his ball being in the pine straw during the third round – given how social-media rules “experts” are watching.

“On 15, that was a little bit more of a doctored situation for me,” Schauffele said. “I had to take two twigs out from the ball, and everyone was staring at me and the cameras were there. I was feeling pretty nervous. Probably the most nervous I’ve been, to be honest.”

The lesson is to be careful when you’re playing with “pick-up sticks” or any other loose impediments. Should you mess up and cause your ball to move as a result of moving a twig, leaf, etc., replace the ball on its original spot (or estimate if you’re not sure) and take a one-stroke penalty.


How you can drop your ball in the fairway after hitting it OB (and it’s perfectly legal)

Can you pass our 10-question rules quiz?

I’m hitting a 6-iron on a par 3. Can I use my driver to measure the teeing area?

Here’s a crafty (but legal) way to take relief and get your ball into a much better lie

What’s it called now? A quick refresher in rules terminology

When taking relief, when do I drop the ball and when should I place it?

My opponent is acting like a tool. Do the rules say anything about unsportsmanlike conduct?

Can I clean mud off my ball while playing a hole?

My ball’s in the water, and it’s on the move! What are my options?

My opponent looks like he’s whipper-snippering as he searches for a lost ball. When is that a penalty?

My ball is in bounds but an OB stake is interfering with my shot. Can I move the stake?

Can I be penalised for delaying play if I stop to get a hotdog or a drink?

When am I allowed to substitute a golf ball on the course?

I stopped my swing before hitting the ball. Does that count as a stroke?

I hit myself with my own ball. Embarrassment aside, is that a penalty?

What happens in a match when no one knows how to apply a rule?

My opponent stopped my ball from rolling on purpose. Is that a penalty?

While waiting to play a shot, my opponent is killing time by chipping a ball. Is this allowed?

My ball is in a penalty area, so what are my options for taking a drop?

Can I be penalised if someone else improves my lie?

Can you repair divot holes or pitch marks in your line before hitting a shot?

I just played the wrong ball. What do I do now?

What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?

What do you do when the tee markers aren’t lined up or are missing?

Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?

Crazy things that only happen in matchplay

Can you hit a provisional ball after hitting a shot into a penalty area?

Your club breaks, what are your options?

My opponent took a generous drop after hitting into a penalty area. Can he be DQ’d for that?

Can I use a long putter when measuring my relief area?

Our practice putting green sucks. Can I hit a few putts on the course before my round?

I had an extra club in my bag and I just teed off. Now what?

Can I move a stone if it improves my lie?

Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Do I get relief from aeration holes?

What does ‘known or virtually certain’ really mean?

Do you have to use a putter on the green?

You’re playing a Srixon. Two holes later it’s a Callaway. Is switching golf balls mid-round allowed?

I hit a horrible shot. I’m waaaaaay better off if I don’t find the ball. Can I just declare it lost?

I’m on the green, my opponent is not. Who’s away?

Is sneaking a peek in another player’s bag considered getting advice?

What do I do if my golf ball is stuck in a tree?

I conceded a putt. My opponent putted anyway and missed. Is that a penalty?

What is casual water and how do I play around it?

I thought my ball was lost and put another in play then found my first ball… which ball counts?

What happens if I can’t tell my provisional ball from my original?

What exactly is an embedded ball?

How do I find my ‘nearest point of relief’?

How long can I take to hit a shot?

Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?