[PHOTO: Getty Images]

A disappointing week from the Australian contingent at TPC Sawgrass has resulted in the first Players Championship in 18 years without a Down Under golfer in the top 20.

Jason Day finished the 50th edition of the Players Championship as the best Australian in a tie for 35th at six-under par. He signed off with an even-par final round of 72. Day, a 13-time PGA Tour winner, was 14 shots behind winner Scottie Scheffler, who became the first golfer in Players history to win back-to-back.

Not since the 2006 Players has the top 20 on leaderboard not featured an Australian, when Canadian Stephen Ames took the title and Craig Parry tied for 22nd to be the lone Aussie in the top 30.

Australians regularly feature high on the leaderboard at TPC Sawgrass, having won it six times via Cameron Smith (2022), Day (2016), Adam Scott (2004), Steve Elkington (1991, 1997) and Greg Norman (1994).

Day’s fellow major winner and former world No.1 Scott was two shots behind at four-under, with his 71 leading to a tie for 45th.

Min Woo Lee, who carded a final-round 70, finished tied 54th a year after sharing sixth place at TPC Sawgrass and playing in the final group with winner Scheffler. Aaron Baddeley (six-over) and Cam Davis (17-over) missed the cut. Davis tied for sixth at last year’s Players.

Meanwhile, the LPGA and DP World Tour may have had a rest week but three Australians secured cards on the European-based circuit for 2025 via the PGA Tour of Australasia’s pathway. New Zealand star Kazuma Kobori was confirmed as the Order of Merit champion and locked up his 2025 card as well as likely invitations to the US Open and Open Championship.

Kobori was presented with the Von Nida Medal as Order of Merit champion and the Rookie of the Year trophy at the completion of the season-ending The National Tournament presented by BMW at The National Golf Club on Sunday.

Brett Coletta and Daniel Gale secured the two remaining DP World Tour exemptions for 2025.