This year across the worldwide professional golf tours, Titleist was once again the No.1 ball for more players and more champions. The game’s finest players relied on a Titleist Pro V1 or Pro V1x golf ball 23,450 times during the 2015-16 season, more than six times the nearest competitor with 3,989 and more than all competitors combined.

During that same time, Titleist golf ball players recorded 188 worldwide victories, compared to 36 for the nearest competitor.

Let’s take a look at some highlights from the past season…


Jimmy Walker – Winner, 2016 PGA Championship: Titleist Pro V1x golf ball, 917D2/8.5° driver, 915Fd/18° fairway metal, 716 MB (3-9) irons, Vokey Design SM6 pitching/48°, sand/54°and lob/60° wedges, Scotty Cameron GSS putter

  • Of the 21 victories recorded by Titleist golf ball players during the 2015-16 PGA Tour season, 10 were achieved by Titleist brand ambassadors who also relied on Titleist golf clubs for their success.
  • Titleist brand ambassador Jimmy Walker (Pro V1x) captured his first major title, winning the PGA Championship at Baltusrol Golf Club.
  • Titleist brand ambassadors Adam Scott (Pro V1) and Jordan Spieth (Pro V1x) enjoyed multiple wins in 2015-2016. Spieth rang in the New Year with a win at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions and then claimed the crown at the Dean & Deluca Championship. Scott won back-to-back during the Florida swing, following up his win at the Honda Classic with a victory at the WCG-Cadillac Championship the very next week.
  • Titleist brand ambassador Greg Chalmers (Pro V1x) became the first player to win on the PGA Tour with the new Titleist 917 driver. In July, Chalmers captured the first PGA Tour title of his career at the Barracuda Championship in Reno, relying on a new 917D2 (8.5°) model. Chalmers spoke about his 917D2 after the win, saying, “Thanks to Titleist I’ve got that new driver, the 917, and I gained some yardage and I started driving it straighter. I drove it beautifully. I really did drive it nicely so a big thank you to them.”
  • Titleist brand ambassadors Peter Malnati (Pro V1x) and Greg Chalmers (Pro V1x) each enjoyed their maiden victories on the PGA Tour in 2016, as did Titleist golf ball loyalists Kevin Kisner(Pro V1), Jim Herman (Pro V1), Brian Stuard (Pro V1x) and Daniel Berger (Pro V1x).



 Henrik Stenson – Winner, The 145th Open Championship: Titleist Pro V1 golf ball

  • Titleist golf ball players entered the winners circle 25 times during the 2015-16 European Tour season, compared to six for the nearest competitor.
  • European Tour Player of the Year and Titleist golf ball loyalist Henrik Stenson (Pro V1) continued his rise within the ranks of the game’s elite, capturing two European Tour titles in 2016. Three weeks after his win at the BMW International Open, Stenson gave golf fans a performance for the ages, capturing his first major at the 145th Open Championship. Stenson, who became the first Swede to win a major on the PGA TOUR or PGA European Tour, was the only player to shoot four rounds in the 60s at Royal Troon, including a record-tying closing round of 8-under-par 63 en route to a record-setting 20-under-par victory total.
  • At the final event of the season on the European Tour, Titleist golf ball loyalist Matthew Fitzpatrick (Pro V1x) shot four rounds in the 60s en route to becoming the youngest winner ever (22 years, 80 days old) of the DP World Tour Championship. Fitzpatrick won twice on the Euro Tour in 2016, also capturing his maiden victory earlier in the year at the Nordea Masters.
  • Also celebrating their first victories on the European Tour in 2016 were Titleist brand ambassadors Andrew Johnston (Pro V1x) and Nathan Holman (Pro V1x), as well as Titleist golf ball loyalists Brandon Stone (Pro V1), Haydn Porteous (Pro V1x), Jeunghun Wang (Pro V1x), Shih-chang Chan (Pro V1x) and Tyrell Hatton (Pro V1x).



Ariya Jutanugarn – LPGA Player of the Year: Titleist Pro V1x golf ball

  • Titleist golf ball loyalists won 22 of the 32 events on the 2016 LPGA Tour, more than five times the nearest competitor with 4.
  • Titleist golf ball loyalist Ariya Jutanugarn (Pro V1x) stole the show in 2016. The 20-year-old Jutanugarn won five times this season, capturing her first career title (and the first LPGA win ever for a Thai golfer) at the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic. She followed up with victories at the Kingsmill Championship, LPGA Volvik Championship, Canadian Pacific Women’s Open and she claimed her first major, at the RICOH Women’s British Open. To cap off her remarkable year, the long-hitting Jutanugarn took home the season-long Race to the CME Globe bonus and the Player of the Year award.
  • In addition to Jutanugarn, five other Titleist golf ball loyalists won multiple times in 2016, including three-time winner Ha Na Jang (Pro V1) as well as Harukyo Nomura (Pro V1x), Sei Young Kim (Pro V1), Shanshan Feng (Pro V1x), Brooke Henderson (Pro V1) and Carlota Ciganda (Pro V1x), who each won twice.
  • Joining Nomura, Jang, Jutanugarn, Henderson and Ciganda as first-time winners on the LPGA Tour in 2016 were Titleist golf ball loyalists Jenny Shin (Pro V1), Caroline Masson (Pro V1x) and Charley Hull (Pro V1x).



Bernhard Langer – Winner, Charles Schwab Cup Season Points Title: Titleist Pro V1 golf ball

  • Titleist golf ball loyalists won 23 events on the 2016 PGA TOUR Champions scheudle, more than 11 times the nearest competitor with 2.
  • Titleist golf ball loyalist Bernhard Langer (Pro V1) led the tour with four victories, winning his third consecutive Charles Schwab Cup season points title and his fourth title overall. The German’s worse finish this season, in 21 events played, was tied for 13th.
  • In addition to Langer, three other Titleist golf ball loyalists won multiple times in 2016, including three-time winner Woody Austin (Pro V1x) as well as Paul Broadhurst (Pro V1x) and Paul Goydos (Pro V1), who each won twice.
  • Titleist golf ball loyalists swepst the majors in 2016. Bernhard Langer (Pro V1) won both The Tradition and The Senior Players Championship, while Rocco Mediate (Pro V1x) captured the Senior PGA Championship, Paul Broadhurst (Pro V1x) won The Senior Open Championship and Gene Sauers (Pro V1) raised the trophy at the U.S. Senior Open. The victories by MediateBroadhurst and Sauers were the first major titles for each player.



Kyung-Tae Kim – Three-time Japan Tour Winner: Titleist Pro V1x golf ball, 915D2/9.5° driver, 917F3/15° fairway metal, 816H1 hybrid (18°), 716 CB (3-5) MB (6-9) irons, Vokey Design SM6 pitching/48°, gap/52° and lob/58° wedges

  • Titleist brand ambassador Kyung-Tae Kim (Pro V1x) won three times on the Japan Golf Tour in 2016, capturing the Token Homemate Cup, The Crowns and The Gateway to the Open miz Open.
  • Titleist brand ambassador Gaganjeet Bhullar (Pro V1x) won on two different tours this year, topping the field at the Bank BRI-JCB Indonesian Open on the Asian Tour as well as the Shinhan Donghae Open on the Korean Tour.
  • Titleist brand ambassador Zecheng Dou (Pro V1x) won the Order of Merit on the 2016 PGA Tour China Series, winning four events over the course of the season and earning a trip to the Tour in 2017.
  • Also earning his card for the 2017 Tour season is Titleist golf ball loyalist Nate Lashley (Pro V1x), who won three events on the PGA TOUR Latinoamerica circuit.
  • And finally, a noteworthy victory for Titleist brand ambassador Jordan Spieth, who won the Emirates Australian Open in November, becoming the first player to win with the new 2017 prototype Pro V1x golf ball (full article).