With a mere couple of taps of his club behind a ball in the rough, reigning US Open champion Wyndham Clark caused a stir on the television broadcast of the Arnold Palmer Invitational, and, of course, in many golf corners of social media.
A number of rogue videos of the supposed incident have already been removed from social media. But they had been spreading like wildfire, as all potential rules controversies do. The CBS crew must have known this was the case, because Jim Nantz quickly brought in rules and review analyst Mark Dusbabek to explain that there was no foul play from Matsuyama.
Wyndham Clark got an enormous rules break during his otherwise spectacular, record-breaking round of 60 in the third round of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am. And on the day after Groundhog Day in the US, he has some kind of critter to thank for it.
Rule 10.1d notes that, “A player must not make a stroke at a moving ball.” However, there are a few exception also listed. Exception 3 states, “When a ball is moving in temporary water or in water in a penalty area, the player may make a stroke.”