World No.6 Adam Scott has selected Marc Leishman, winner of six events worldwide, to be his partner for the upcoming World Cup of Golf at Kingston Heath Golf Club from November 23-27.

Scott was left to make the tough decision on his partner following Friday’s withdrawal of world No.1 Jason Day to a back injury.

Leishman, who was paired with Scott when he won his green jacket at The Masters in 2013, will be making his first World Cup of Golf appearance. Winner of the 2012 Travelers Championship on the PGA TOUR, Leishman has five other international victories, including his most recent at the 2015 Nedbank Golf Challenge in South Africa on the European Tour last December.


Leishman entered the final round with a one-stroke lead over Henrik Stenson and shot 67 to win by six, becoming the second Australian (Robert Allenby in 2009) to win the title. He was voted Rookie of the Year in 2009 on the PGA TOUR after three top-10 finishes, including a runner-up finish to Tiger Woods at the BMW Championship.

The pair have form together. Scott and Leishman were teammates on the International Team in The Presidents Cup in 2013 and in 2015. The two were paired together in 2015 during the Saturday foursomes where they defeated Bubba Watson and J.B. Holmes 1-up. Leishman also defeated Jordan Spieth that year in singles play.

“I’m extremely excited about playing in the World Cup of Golf with Adam. I can’t wait to represent my country back home in Australia,” Leishman said. “Also, my best to Jason for a quick recovery.”

“It’s (Kingston Heath) probably in my top three (courses in the world), to be honest. Along with Augusta National Golf Club and St Andrews. Kingston Heath is not long, it’s a very fun golf course and you can shoot really low there. You’ll have a lot of wedges in your hand – you have to be really precise,” Leishman added in an interview earlier this year.


A native Victorian hailing from Warrnambool, Leishman enjoyed a very successful amateur career, winning many junior tournaments in Victoria and playing on the pennant team for Commonwealth Golf Club along with Jarrod Lyle.

Leishman’s selection to team with Adam Scott came after Jason Day announced last week that he was forced to withdraw due to a back injury.

The 2016 World Cup of Golf will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format.  The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.

The World Cup of Golf field now includes:

  • Two major championship winners from 2016 in JimmyWalker (US PGA Championship) and Danny Willett (The Masters)
  • 27 Olympians
  • 18 past participants of either The Ryder Cup or The Presidents Cup
  • 6 players from the 2016 Ryder Cup in Rickie Fowler, Jimmy Walker, Danny Willet, Lee Westwood, Cabrera Bella and Thomas Pieters
  • 3 players in the top 10 and 17 of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking
  • 3 past World Cup of Golf champions – Adam Scott, Francesco Molinari and Bradley Dredge


World Cup of Golf 2016 Field

Player                             Country      Partner

Adam Scott                       AUS             Marc Leishman

Rickie Fowler                   USA             Jimmy Walker

Danny Willett                  ENG             Lee Westwood

Hideki Matsuyama         JPN              Ryo Ishikawa

Russell Knox                   SCO              Duncan Stewart

Rafa Cabrera Bello        ESP               Jon Rahm

Shane Lowry                   IRL                Graeme McDowell

Byeong Hun An             KOR             K.T. Kim

Thongchai Jaidee         THA              Kiradech Aphibarnrat

Soren Kjeldsen             DEN             Thorbjorn Olesen

Danny Lee                     NZL              Ryan Fox

Alex Noren                    SWE             David Lingmerth

Francesco Molinari     ITA               Matteo Manassero

Bernd Wiesberger      AUT             Martin Wiegele

Thomas Pieters           BEL               Nicolas Colsaerts

Joost Luiten                 NED             Darius van Driel

Jaco Van Zyl                RSA              George Coetzee

Jamie Donaldson       WAL             Bradley Dredge

Jhonattan Vegas         VEN             Julio Vegas

Victor Dubuisson        FRA              Romain Langasque

Alex Cejka                    GER              Stephan Jaeger

Ricardo Gouveia         POR             Jose-Filipe Lima

David Hearn                CAN             Graham DeLaet

Ashun Wu                    CHN             Haotong Li

Miguel Tabuena          PHI               Angelo Que

Cheng Tsung Pan       TPE               Chan Shih-chang

SSP Chawrasia            IND              S Chikarangappa

Danny Chia                  MAS            Nicholas Fung