Everything you need to know to watch the PGA Tour event at Mayakoba, Mexico this week.

THE World Wide Technology Championship at Mayakoba, one of the final three events on the PGA Tour calendar in 2021, boasts a solid field featuring two former World No. 1s, 11 Ryder Cuppers and 12 major champions.

Along with Viktor Hovland, the defending champion, Justin Thomas, Brooks Koepka, Rory McIlroy, Sergio Garcia and Jon Rahm will be teeing off at El Camaleon Golf Club (7,017 yards, par 71) this week. Hovland won Mayakoba in entertaining fashion last year with a birdie on the final hole for a one-shot victory over Aaron Wise. It was the second tour win for the Norway native, and it helped him join a select group of Europeans to win multiple times on tour before turning 24.

Mexico native Abraham Ancer, winner in August at the WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational, will be looking for a victory in his home country after a T-12 finish at Mayakoba in 2020. A Mexican golfer has never won a PGA Tour event on home soil.

In the tournament’s 14-year hiistory, there have been several close finishies. Four times the tournament has gone into a playoff just once has it been won by more than two shots. The last four years the winner has pulled out victory by a single stroke.

This year’s champ will receive a $1.296 million share of the $7.2 million purse and 500 FedEx Cup points.


You can watch live Featured Groups, Featured Holes and main broadcast coverage on GOLFTV powered by the PGA Tour, while on Fox Sports/Kayo coverage starts at 6am AEST for the first two rounds (Friday, Saturday) and 5am for the third and final rounds (Sunday, Monday).


Round one: Matt Jones 12.12am Friday AEST; Lucas Herbert 4.30am Friday


Featured group one: Abraham Ancer, Carlos Ortiz, Sergio Garcia

Featured group two: Viktor Hovland, Lucas Herbert, Patrick Reed

Featured group three: Brooks Koepka, Tony Finau, Billy Horschel

Featured group four: Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Joaquin Niemann