THE captains have given Ryder Cup fans exactly what they want – an epic showdown for the ages.

Matchplay superstar Pat Reed and FedEx Cup champion Rory McIlroy will have the golf world waiting with baited breath, going mano-e-mano in the opening Sunday singles match at Hazeltine.

Europe captain Darren Clarke has given the anchor spot to rookie Matthew Fitzpatrick, while Team USA counterpart Davis Love III has awarded the same honour to Zach Johnson.

The Europeans trail their rivals 9.5–6.5, who need five points from Sunday’s 12 singles matches to win the Ryder Cup for only the third time in 23 years.

On the other hand, Europe need 7½ to retain the trophy they have held since 2010.

The 41st edition of the Ryder Cup also sees Jordan Spieth take on Open Champion Henrik Stenson in the second singles battle, followed by J.B. Holmes vs. Thomas Pieters, Rickie Fowler vs. Justin Rose, Jimmy Walker vs. Rafa Cabrera Bello, Phil Mickelson vs. Sergio Garcia,  Ryan Moore vs. Lee Westwood, Brandt Snedeker vs. Andy Sullivan, Dustin Johnson vs. Chris Wood, Brooks Koepka vs. 2016 Masters champion Danny Willett and Matt Kuchar vs. Martin Kaymer.

Australian Eastern Standard Time:

Monday, October 3

3:04am: Patrick Reed vs. Rory McIlroy
3:15am: Jordan Spieth vs. Henrik Stenson
3:26am: J.B. Holmes vs. Thomas Pieters
3:37am.: Rickie Fowler vs. Justin Rose
3:48am: Jimmy Walker vs. Rafa Cabrera Bello
3:59am: Phil Mickelson vs. Sergio Garcia
4:10am: Ryan Moore vs. Lee Westwood
4:21 am: Brandt Snedeker vs. Andy Sullivan
4:32am: Dustin Johnson vs. Chris Wood
4:43am: Brooks Koepka vs. Danny Willett
4:54am: Matt Kuchar vs. Martin Kaymer
5:05am: Zach Johnson vs. Matthew Fitzpatrick