IT’S a little more than 50 days until the first round of the 2022 Masters. That’s how close we are to the first men’s major of the year.

And, well, the excitement is building for sure. It, of course, started to build up in early January.

Indeed, invitations have arrived in players mailboxes. And the last spots in the field are starting to get filled. You’ll forgive us, then, for our general excitement for what might come in the coming months.

In anticipation for the year’s first men’s major, we have compiled a lit of who has already locked up an invitation to play at Augusta National. By omission, then, you can figure out who has some work left between now and then to earn a spot in the field (for instance, Rickie Fowler, still has to qualify again).

With the standard 19-point qualifying criteria in place again for 2022, we have a count of 101 total invitees so far (listed below). Taking out the past champions who did not compete in 2021 (which includes Tiger Woods) or said they won’t in 2022 (Ian Woosnam becoming the most recent), that’s 86 pros and amateurs who are set to tee it up in a few months.

There are a few ways still to get into the 2022 field, but time is running out. The winner of any of the remaining full FedEx Cup points events on the PGA Tour in 2022 not already in will qualify. Additionally, anyone in the top 50 of the World Ranking a week before the April 7-10 tournament also gets an invitation. (Among the notables likely to get in that route are Russell Henley, Harold Varner III, Thomas Pieters and Seamus Power). And, of course, Augusta National has the right to offer special invitations.

Photo: J.D. Cuban

Below is the current field for Augusta.

Abraham Ancer, 16 (WGC-FedEx), 17
Daniel Berger, 17
Christiaan Bezuidenhout, 18
Sam Burns, 16 (Valspar, Sanderson), 17
Patrick Cantlay, 16 (Memorial, BMW), 17
Paul Casey, 15
Cameron Champ, 16 (3M Open)
Stewart Cink, 12, 16 (RBC Heritage), 17
Corey Conners, 12, 17
Fred Couples, 1
Cameron Davis, 16 (Rocket Mortgage)
Bryson DeChambeau, 2, 17
Harris English, 13, 16 (Travelers), 17
Tony Finau, 12, 16 (Northern Trust), 17
Matt Fitzpatrick, 18
Tommy Fleetwood, 18
Sergio Garcia, 1
Lucas Glover, 16 (John Deere)
Talor Gooch, 16 (RSM Classic)
Austin Greaser (a), 7
Stewart Hagestad (a), 10
Brian Harman, 12
Padraig Harrington, 15
Tyrrell Hatton, 18
Lucas Herbert, 16 (Bermuda)
Garrick Higgo, 16 (Palmetto)
Harry Higgs, 15
Tom Hoge, 16 (AT&T Pebble Beach)
Max Homa, 16 (Fortinet)
Billy Horschel, 17
Viktor Hovland, 16 (Mayakoba), 17
Mackenzie Hughes, 18
Sungjae Im, 16 (Shriners), 17
Trevor Immelman, 1
Aaron Jarvis (a), 11
Dustin Johnson, 1, 7
Zach Johnson, 1
Takumi Kanaya, 18
Si Woo Kim, 12
Kevin Kisner, 16 (Wyndham)
Brooks Koepka, 2, 4, 13, 15, 17
Jason Kokrak, 16 (Colonial, Houston), 17
Bernhard Langer, 1
K.H. Lee, 16 (Byron Nelson)
Min Woo Lee, 18
Marc Leishman, 12, 16
Luke List, 16 (Farmers)
Shane Lowry, 3
Sandy Lyle, 1
Robert MacIntyre, 12
Hideki Matsuyama, 1, 12, 16 (Masters, Zozo, Sony), 17
Rory McIlroy, 5, 16 (Wells Fargo, CJ Cup), 17
Phil Mickelson, 1, 4, 15, 16
Guido Migliozzi, 13
Larry Mize, 1
Francesco Molinari, 3
Collin Morikawa, 3, 4, 13, 14, 16 (Open Championship), 17
Kevin Na, 12, 7
Keita Nakajima (a), 9
Joaquin Niemann, 17
Jose Maria Olazabal, 1
Louis Oosthuizen, 13, 14, 15, 17
Ryan Palmer, 18
James Piot (a), 7
Jon Rahm, 2, 12, 13, 14, 16 (US Open), 17
Patrick Reed, 1, 12, 17
Justin Rose, 12
Xander Schauffele, 6, 12, 17
Scottie Scheffler, 17
Charl Schwartzel, 1
Adam Scott, 1
Laird Shepherd (a), 8
Webb Simpson, 12
Vijay Singh, 1
Cameron Smith, 12, 16 (Zurich, Sentry TOC), 17
Jordan Spieth, 1, 3, 12, 14, 17
Hudson Swafford, 16 (American Express)
Justin Thomas, 4, 5, 17
Erik van Rooyen, 17
Bubba Watson, 1
Mike Weir, 1
Lee Westwood, 18
Danny Willett, 1
Mathew Wolff, 18
Gary Woodland, 2
Will Zalatoris, 12

Past champions who did not play in 2021 or said they won’t play in 2022:

Tommy Aaron
Jack Burke, Jr.
Angel Cabrera
Charles Coody
Ben Crenshaw
Nick Faldo
Raymond Floyd
Jack Nicklaus
Mark O’Meara
Gary Player
Craig Stadler
Tom Watson
Tiger Woods
Ian Woosnam
Fuzzy Zoeller

2022 qualifying categories

1: Masters champions (lifetime)
2: U.S. Open champions (five years)
3: Open champions (five years)
4: PGA champion (five years)
5: Players champion (three years)
6: Current Olympic gold medalist (one year)
7: Current U.S. Amateur champion and runner-up (one year)
8: Current British Amateur champion (one year)
9: Current Asia-Pacific Amateur champion (one year)
10: Current U.S. Mid-Amateur champion (one year)
11: Current Latin America Amateur champion (one year)
12: First 12 players, including ties, in the previous year’s Masters
13: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year’s U.S. Open
14: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year’s Open Championship
15: First 4 players, including ties, in the previous year’s PGA Championship
16: Winners of PGA Tour regular-season and playoff events that award at least a full allocation of FedEx Cup points
17: Qualifiers from the previous year’s season-ending Tour Championship (top 30 in FedEx Cup)
18: 50 leaders on the final Official World Golf Ranking for the previous calendar year
19: 50 leaders on the Official World Golf Ranking published during the week prior to the current Masters