Russell Henley holds a two-stroke lead as he enters the final round of the Sony Open at Waialae Country Club. The 32-year-old Georgia native will be fending off the likes of the defending Masters champion Hideki Matsuyama, the golfer alone in second place, as well as a foursome of players who are four back that includes former Sony Open winner Matt Kuchar. But his biggest nemesis today in Honolulu might be himself.

Henley is a three-time PGA Tour winner, including a Sony triumph of his own in 2013 (in his first career tour start as a professional). But his last victory came nearly five years ago and his track record when holding a lead entering the final round on tour is sketchy. In the five previous times he’s been out front with 18 holes remaining, he’s closed out the win just once (fortunately for him, that once was Sony in 2013, when he shot a Sunday 63).

Most recently, Henley had a three-shot advantage heading into the final round of the Wyndham Championship last August only to finish T-7 after shooting a one-over 71 that left him one shy of a six-man playoff.

“Yeah, it’s tough. I’ve slept on a few leads the last couple years. It’s hard,” Henley said on Saturday after shooting following up a 62-63 start with a 67 to get to 18-under total. “I struggle to sleep. I’m already not the best sleeper.

“But, yeah, I mean, the thing is you look at what the Hideki did today, he shot seven-under. Guys are so good out here. You just have to play at such a high level for so long to be in contention. So hopefully I can keep doing that and play well [Sunday], give myself a chance on the back nine.”

Henley isn’t wrong. Closing out a win is tough in general. Only nine times since 2000 has the Sony Open winner been the leader entering the final round. And only four times in 10 events so far in the 2021-2022 PGA Tour season has the 54-hole leader stayed out front to win the title.

Whoever comes out on top today in Hawaii will be well rewarded for his effort. The prizemoney payout for the winner at Waialae is $US1.35 million from and overall purse of $US7.5 million. Here’s the prizemoney payout breakdown (in US dollars) for every player who made the cut in Honolulu:

Win: Hideki Matsuyama, 257/-23, $1,350,000

2: Russell Henley, -257/-23, $817,500

T-3: Kevin Kisner, 261/-19, $442,500

T-3: Seamus Power, 261/-19, $442,500

T-5: Lucas Glover, 262/-18, $289,687.50

T-5: Michael Thompson, 262/-18, $289,687.50

T-7: Russell Knox, 263/-17, $227,812.50

T-7: Matt Kuchar, 263/-17, $227,812.50

T-7: Keith Mitchell, 263/-17, $227,812.50

T-7: Adam Svensson, 263/-17, $227,812.50

11: Corey Conners, 264/-16, $189,375

T-12: Keegan Bradley, 265/-15, $148,875

T-12: Hayden Buckley, 265/-15, $148,875

T-12: Satoshi Kodaira, 265/-15, $148,875

T-12: Haotong Li, 265/-15, $148,875

T-12: Ryan Palmer, 265/-15, $148,875

T-17: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, 266/-14, $114,375

T-17: Jason Kokrak, 266/-14, $114,375

T-17: Vince Whaley, 266/-14, $114,375

T-20: Ryan Armour, 267/-13, $79,017.86

T-20: Joseph Bramlett, 267/-13, $79,017.86

T-20: Davis Riley, 267/-13, $79,017.86

T-20: Erik van Rooyen, 267/-13, $79,017.86

T-20: Dylan Wu, 267/-13, $79,017.86

T-20: Kramer Hickok, 267/-13, $79,017.85

T-20: Kevin Na, 267/-13, $79,017.85

T-27: Wesley Bryan, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Cam Davis, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Luke Donald, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Talor Gooch, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Chris Kirk, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Ben Kohles, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Maverick McNealy, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Andrew Putnam, 268/-12, $49,250

T-27: Kyle Stanley, 268/-12, $49,250

T-36: Stewart Cink, 269/-11, $35,700

T-36: Billy Horschel, 269/-11, $35,700

T-36: Charles Howell III, 269/-11, $35,700

T-36: Marc Leishman, 269/-11, $35,700

T-36: Brandt Snedeker, 269/-11, $35,700

41: Keita Nakajima, 270/-10, Amateur

T-42: Jim Furyk, 271/-9, $27,375

T-42: Patton Kizzire, 271/-9, $27,375

T-42: J.T. Poston, 271/-9, $27,375

T-42: Greyson Sigg, 271/-9, $27,375

T-42: Sepp Straka, 271/-9, $27,375

T-42: Vaughn Taylor, 271/-9, $27,375

T-48: Paul Barjon, 272/-8, $19,639.29

T-48: Brian Harman, 272/-8, $19,639.29

T-48: Denny McCarthy, 272/-8, $19,639.29

T-48: Hudson Swafford, 272/-8, $19,639.29

T-48: K.H. Lee, 272/-8, $19,639.28

T-48: Sahith Theegala, 272/-8, $19,639.28

T-48: Brendon Todd, 272/-8, $19,639.28

T-55: Kevin Chappell, 273/-7, $17,400

T-55: Brett Drewitt, 273/-7, $17,400

T-55: Harris English, 273/-7, $17,400

T-55: Si Woo Kim, 273/-7, $17,400

T-55: Jim Knous, 273/-7, $17,400

T-55: Henrik Norlander, 273/-7, $17,400

T-61: Webb Simpson, 275/-5, $16,800

T-61: Kevin Tway, 275/-5, $16,800

63: Sam Ryder, 276/-4, $16,575

64: Justin Lower, 277/-3, $16,425

65: Jimmy Walker, 278/-2, $16,275