A hole-in-one is supposed to be a rite of passage—a joyous occasion marked by high fives, hugs and, of course, beers. You never forget your first, after all. For one golfer, however, his first “ace” turned into a nightmare over Fourth of July weekend thanks to one golf’s most steadfast technicalities. Read on, sadists.

This is my HIO nightmare. byu/Mental-Relation-7993 ingolf

RELATED: Unbelievable hole-in-one story lends new wrinkle to the ‘does it count?’ debate

We think we’re going to be sick. This poor sap ignored his buddy’s advice about how long the hole played, hit 7 iron and came up short. He then loaded up his 6 for shits and gigs and jarred the thing. He even has the scuffed ball to prove it.

https://www.golfdigest.com/content/dam/images/golfdigest/fullset/2024/4/acenightmare2.jpg

RELATED: Never been done? Golfer makes back-to-back par-4 holes-in-one

There are some blurry lines when it comes to holes-in-one, but a second-shot ace isn’t one of them. For this guy’s sake, we wish it were, but the rules are the rules.

To make matters even worse, this unlucky S.O.B now believes he’s cursed himself into never making an actual ace. That’s not true, of course—curses are for horror movies and the Buffalo Bills—but the mind is a fickle mistress, and if you believe you’re not going to make a hole-in-one, then you probably never will.

This article was originally published on golfdigest.com