The greens look great and the fairways are striped to perfection as Coffs Harbour Golf Club readies itself for the Women’s NSW Open, which begins tomorrow.

Coffs Harbour Golf Club general manager Paul McAra is thrilled with the course preparation and organisation around the tournament, saying it’s been a wonderful effort from all his staff and a hardy band of volunteers and club members.

“We are delighted with how it’s come up in such a short time. It’s been a hectic process,” Mr McAra said.

The tournament director, Golf NSW’s Graeme Phillipson, was equally delighted with the preparations to date despite the recent wet weather.

“The staff at Coffs Harbour and the club’s members have done a fantastic job of getting everything together here. Everything is in place to ensure the Women’s’ Open is a fantastic event,” Phillipson added.

Round one and two tee-times have already been released and fans can expect some wonderful golf from the marquee groupings.

Gun amateur Doey Choi from Concord Golf Club will get to test her game alongside the biggest names in the sport when she begins her NSW Open quest with Hall-of-Famer Dame Laura Davies and ALPG and LPGA member Sarah Kemp. The trio will start from the 10th hole at 7.38am.

Coonabarabran’s Rebecca Artis (pictured) will be looking to add an NSW Open title to her name before she embarks on her rookie year on the LPGA tour. She will hit off at 7.27am from the tenth tee alongside the impressive Thai Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras and Amy Boulden of Wales.

Other groups to watch include last week’s third place-getter Valdis Jonsdottir, Sheridan Gorton and England’s Inci Mehmet who will get their round underway at 1pm from the 10th tee.


Past winners:
2006: Joanne Mills
2008: Dame Laura Davies (ENG)
2009-2010: Sarah Oh (NSW)
2011: Caroline Hedwall (SWE)
2012: Lydia Ko (a) (NZL)
2013: Caroline Hedwall (SWE)
2014: Joanna Klatten (FRA)
2015: Holly Clyburn (ENG)