You might know some golfers at your club or course who have a habit of raking putts that are not “gimmes.” They might even pick up their ball after a hole has been decided in match play, even though they still had some work to do to earn the bogey they want to put down on the card.
Can you pencil in whatever score you want on a scorecard when your ball is in your pocket? If you’re playing by the official Rules of Handicapping, the answer is an emphatic no.
Rule 3.3 covers what to do when a hole is started but you don’t hole out. Subject to other provisions in the handicapping rules, you must record your most likely score or net double bogey, whichever is lower, “as appropriate for the situation and depending on the format of play.”
We bolded “most likely score” because it’s important to follow the guidelines the USGA outlines. That score would be:
- The number of strokes already taken to reach a position on a hole, plus
- The number of strokes the player would most likely require to complete the hole from that position, plus
- Any penalty strokes incurred during play of the hole.
You might have thought you have to take net double bogey when you pick up for handicap purposes. That’s not true. In the case of a player who knocks it stiff on a par 3 and rakes the ball, Rule 3.3 says one stroke should be added to the score for handicap purposes (so it’s a birdie). Any putt on the green from five feet or closer is considered made.
If a ball is between five and 20 yards from the hole and a golfer picked up, that player would add either two or three strokes to the scores. The number depends on the ability of the golfer and/or the difficulty of the hole (it’s at your discretion).
Finally, if they were outside of 20 yards, golfers add three or four strokes. In most cases, you would likely be at a maximum of net double bogey, but not always. A 30-handicap on a hard hole might add four shots to his or her score when picking up after hitting a tee shot out of bounds on the No. 1 handicap hole, but that would add up to a score of 6 when a net double bogey for that golfer would be an 8. Don’t forget, that golfer gets two shots on the harder holes.
Two other things to note about Rule 3.3: There is no limit to pick-up holes recorded for handicap purposes provided you had a valid reason for continuing to scoop up your ball. But if you pick up while using a format where holing out is mandatory (a “rattle-bottom” tournament, for example), you’d be disqualified for doing so.
MORE GOLF DIGEST RULES REVIEWS
What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?
What happens if my three-minute search for a lost ball gets interrupted?
I hit myself with my own ball. Is that a penalty anymore?
What exactly is an embedded ball?
Touching the green to see if it’s wet: Penalty or no?
I hit a horrible shot. I’m way better off if I don’t find it. Can I just declare it lost?
Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?
I accidentally hit my ball with a practice stroke … does it count?
I’m on the green. My opponent is not. Who’s away?
I bent my putter and it actually works better. Can I still use it?
Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?
This article was originally published on golfdigest.com