We’re halfway to finding out who will be the 2022 Champion Golfer of the Year at St Andrews, and things are just starting to get interesting. The low scores predicted for the 150th Open Championship have come to fruition – Cameron Smith leads at the midway point with an Open record 13-under total. And that’s even with the R&A getting “creative” with some hole locations on Friday.

“The R&A set it up with some pretty tricky pins, Some new ones. Made it a little more difficult,” said Tiger Woods, who, sadly, will not be playing on the weekend after following up a opening 78 with a three-over 75 on Friday.

Expect more of the same Saturday during the third round as the winds are forecasted to be light, potentially setting up even lower scoring.

Along with Smith, Cameron Young will be in the final group teeing off at 3:55 p.m. local time (10:55 a.m. Eastern) on Day 3. Young got experience contending in a major at the PGA Championship in May and hopes that will steel him for the moment on Saturday.

A total of 83 players made the cut at even-par 144. Here’s their twosome tee times for the third round:

Tee Times


First Tee (Aussies in bold)

Local time/AEST

8:35am/5:35pm — Richard Mansell

8:45am/5:45pm — Trey Mullinax, Kevin Kisner

8:55am/5:55pm — Tony Finau, Adri Arnaus

9:05am/6:05pm — Justin De Los Santos, Robert MacIntyre

9:15am/6:15pm — Francesco Molinari, Dean Burmester

9:25am/6:25pm — Lars Van Meijel, Robert Dinwiddie

9:40am/6:40pm — Sebastián Muñoz, Jordan Smith

9:50am/6:50pm — Sungjae Im, Aaron Jarvis (A)

10am/7pm — Wyndham Clark, Sam Bairstow (A)

10:10am/7:10pm — Christiaan Bezuidenhout, John Parry

10:20am/7:20pm — Anthony Quayle, Chris Kirk

10:30am/7:30pm — Hideki Matsuyama, Bryson DeChambeau

10:45am/7:45pm — Jamie Rutherford, Jason Scrivener

10:55am/7:55pm — Joaquin Niemann, Paul Casey

11:05am/8:05pm — Marcus Armitage, Adrian Meronk

11:15am/8:15pm — Justin Thomas, Jason Kokrak

11:25am/8:25pm — Danny Willett, Corey Conners

11:35am/8:35pm. — Billy Horschel, Cameron Tringale

11:50am/8:50pm — Laurie Canter, Thomas Pieters

12 noon/9pm — Russell Henley, Dylan Frittelli

12:10pm/9:10pm — Brian Harman, Tommy Fleetwood

12:20pm/9:20pm — Kurt Kitayama, Garrick Higgo

12:30pm/9:30pm — Ian Poulter, Sam Burns

12:40pm/9:40pm — David Law, Filippo Celli (A)

12:55pm/9:55pm — Sergio Garcia, Will Zalatoris

1:05pm/10:05pm — Shane Lowry, Nicolai Højgaard

1:15pm/10:15pm — Victor Perez, Brad Kennedy

1:25pm/10:25pm — JooHyung Kim, Patrick Reed

1:35pm/10:35pm — Harold Varner III, Jon Rahm

1:45pm/10:45pm — Jordan Spieth, Thriston Lawrence

2pm/11pm — Thomas Detry, Xander Schauffele

2:10pm/11:10pm — Lee Westwood, David Carey

2:20pm/11:20pm — Yuto Katsuragawa, Abraham Ancer

2:30pm/11:30pm — Aaron Wise, Lucas Herbert

2:40pm/11:40pm — Barclay Brown (A), Sadom Kaewkanjana

2:50pm/11:50pm — Min Woo Lee, Matt Fitzpatrick

3:05pm/12:05am — Si Woo Kim, Sahith Theegala

3:15pm/12:15am — Patrick Cantlay, Adam Scott

3:25pm/12:25am — Talor Gooch, Tyrrell Hatton

3:35pm/12:35am — Scottie Scheffler, Dustin Johnson

3:45pm/12:45am — Viktor Hovland, Rory McIlroy

3:55pm/12:55am — Cameron Young, Cameron Smith