In the time since that first championship, the Emirates Australian Open has evolved from an event of limited local standing to once being rated by the likes of Nick Faldo, Raymond Floyd and Jack Nicklaus as the world’s “fifth Major” championship.

It has been the stage for the game’s greatest players as they have battled to claim Australian golf’s most prized silverware – the Stonehaven Cup. It is of no surprise then, that the names engraved on that cup are synonymous with Major championship history. Three of the sport’s five immortals are there; in addition to South African Gary Player’s record of seven inscriptions (most indelibly alongside the year 1965 when he plundered Kooyonga to the phenomenal tune of 28-under par), there’s Nicklaus’ name six times, and also Gene Sarazen for his win at Metropolitan in 1936 where he made good his promise to return and avenge his 1934 defeat by Sydney pro Bill Bolger.

Stonehaven Cup

And the other two? Well Ben Hogan was terrified of flying and made the trip to Britain only once – enough though to claim the Open Championship, however the thought of a trip to Australia was simply too much. And Tiger? Well, he came very close in 2011.

But what of those who couldn’t win all four of the Majors? For a start there’s Arnold Palmer and Tom Watson, while Australia’s five-time Open champion Peter Thomson [pictured alongside son Andrew] is there for his wins in 1951, 1967 and in 1972.

Greg Norman and Australia’s greatest ever amateur, Ivo Whitton, are there five times. And sitting just one title shy of Norman and Whitton is the only player to have won three successive Australian Opens – the great Ossie Pickworth. Back to Whitton though, and he is to Australian golf what Bobby Jones is to American golf. Like Thomson, Whitton was able to win the Open in three different decades; recording the fifth of his victories at The Australian in 1931.

And so we look to this year and, doubtless, another story that will enthral – just another chapter in the already rich folklore of the Emirates Australian Open.

What the champion receives

• His name engraved on original Stonehaven Cup, which remains in the Golf Australia Museum.

• The Gold Medal.

• Replica Stonehaven Cup to hold for one year.

As part of the R&A’s Open Qualifying Series, the leading three placegetters in the top 10, who are not already exempt, will win direct entry into next year’s Open Championship. The leading amateur receives the Silver Medal (multiple winners in the case of a tie).