Results for "Rules Review"

We found 372 results for your search.

Rules Review: We agreed on a ruling in our match but found out we handled it wrong. What happens now?

You can’t ignore the rules in a match, but what if you don’t know a rule and proceed incorrectly?

Rules Review: The group ahead left the flagstick lying on the green. Do I have to replace it before hitting my approach shot?

One of golf’s principles is to play the course as it’s found. This includes where golfers in the group before you left the flagstick.

Rules Review: Another golfer found my ball and propped it up in the rough. Can I play it like that?

Can you play it as it lies? After all, you had nothing to do with the action. Several Rules of Golf come into play on this one.

Rules Review: When does ‘tidying’ a bunker turn into improving your line of play?

Where the Rules of Golf can be a little unclear concerns actions taken in a bunker that some might consider testing the surface or improving the conditions affecting the stroke. Let’s review what is and isn’t a penalty.

Rules Review: My opponent purposely putted away from the hole to show his partner the line. Can he do that?

The topic of purposely putting away from a hole to show someone else in the group how his or her putt will break is a bit of a grey area for the Rules of Golf.

Rules Review: After a rain delay, I found my plugged ball under water. I get relief, right?

How can you recreate your lie when that lie doesn’t exist anymore?

Rules Review: I played a range ball on a par 3 over water. My opponent says it’s a penalty to use it. True?

If you’re guilty of pulling a practice ball out from time to time, you might wonder if you’re running afoul of the rules in terms of potentially using a non-conforming golf ball. And what about those X-out balls you can get for $20 a dozen?

Rules Review: He took the penalty but dropped in the wrong place. Now what?

Rule 14 helps you find out what should happen to that guy you saw attempt to take a penalty drop but didn’t get it exactly right.

Rules Review: Is your ball on or off? In or out? Understanding course boundaries

“In or out” and “on or off” are good things to know if you want to avoid mistakenly committing a penalty, because the Rules of Golf vary depending on what kind of marker is beside your ball.

Rules Review: Can you get free relief from a sprinkler head on your line of play? Maybe (we’ll explain)

Whether or not you’re entitled to free relief depends on if your course or committee is using Model Local Rule F-5.

Rules Review: Our team conceded a putt but the guy still hit it to help his partner read the line. Penalty?

There is no penalty in this situation, just some bad etiquette.

Rules Review: A tour pro used powder to keep his hands dry on the grip. Is that legal?

If you’ve never seen anyone do this, you might wonder what the Rules of Golf has to say about whether that gives a player an illegal advantage.

Rules Review: If I play this shot left-handed instead of right-handed, I’m stepping on a sprinkler head. Can I get relief?

Although perhaps rare, here’s a situation where you might be able to use the rules to your advantage.

Rules Review: A course mower chewed up my ball and spat it out. What do I do now?

There’s a lot to deal with here, so let’s cover what to do when a mower inadvertently clips your ball. First, don’t get mad at the mower.

Rules Review: You can remove that stone in the bunker. But what happens if it improves your lie?

It’s worth revisiting what is and isn’t allowed in terms of what you can do before playing a shot from a bunker.

Rules Review: A tour pro grounded his club in a bunker but wasn’t penalised. How come?

At the Mexico Open at Vidanta in February, defending champion Jake Knapp was battling just to make the cut when he hit a bunker shot on his final hole (the ninth) of the second round. The ball didn’t make it out of the bunker, and in frustration, Knapp swiped the sand with his club. This Read more…

Rules Review: What can teammates share between groups during a team event? The dos and don’ts on giving advice

Team competitions are covered under Rule 24 – and they’re a big thing in the competitive golf landscape with the Ryder and Walker Cups coming up later in the year, not to mention all the pennant matches staged across the country. If you’re involved in one of these events, there are a few important things to remember about “helping” other members of your squad during a big match.

Rules Review: Two balls just collided in mid-air! What’s the ruling on that?

When two balls in motion at the same time run into each other, how you proceed depends on where the balls were when the strokes were made.

Rules Review: My opponent sets his clubhead behind the ball before taking his stance. Is that breaking the rule about aiming?

Setting an object down means that the object is in contact with the ground and the player is not touching the object.

Rules Review: I took an unplayable but my drop ended up in an even worse spot. What happens now?

There is no guarantee your ball will be playable after a drop is taken.