PINEHURST, N.C. — Can anyone catch Bryson DeChambeau? That’s the question entering the final round of the 2024 U.S. Open, a surprising one given that on the back nine Saturday it seemed to be anybody’s ball game with a half dozen players within a shot of the lead.

But as Ludvig Aberg, Tony Finau, Matthieu Pavon and Rory McIlroy faded at the close, DeChambeau hung on with third-round 67 (despite a double bogey on the 16th hole) that puts him three shots ahead of Pavon, McIlroy and Patrick Cantlay.

The last time Pinehurst No. 2 hosted the U.S. Open 10 years ago, Martin Kaymer took a five-shot lead into the final round, then extended it to eight when he closed out victory on Sunday with a closing 69. So it’s a done deal, right? Well, back in 2005, Retief Goosen carried a three-shot lead into Sunday in the North Carolina sandhills, only to watch Michael Campbell come from four off the pace to grab the victory with a closing 69

The final twosome tees off at 2:21 p.m. ET Sunday. Here are the tee times for the entire field:

7:30 a.m.: Seonghyeon Kim, Gunnar Broin (a)

7:41 a.m.: Matthew Fitzpatrick, Jackson Suber

7:52 a.m.: Brandon Wu, Austin Eckroat

8:03 a.m.: Francesco Molinari, Ben Kohles

8:14 a.m.: Dean Burmester, Ryan Fox

8:25 a.m.: Sepp Straka, Martin Kaymer

8:36 a.m.: Greyson Sigg, Cameron Young

8:47 a.m.: Nico Echavarria, Brendon Todd

8:58 a.m.: Justin Lower, Sam Bennett

9:09 a.m.: Adam Scott, Brian Campbell

9:25 a.m.: Matt Kuchar, Frankie Capan III

9:36 a.m.: Adam Svensson, Harris English

9:47 a.m.: Jordan Spieth, Si Woo Kim

9:58 a.m.: May Greyserman, Sahith Theegala

10:09 a.m.: Daniel Berger, Keegan Bradley

10:20 a.m.: Scottie Scheffler, Tom McKibbin

10:31 a.m.: Brook Koepka, Tim Widing

10:42 a.m.: Nicolai Hjogaard, Emiliano Grillo

10:53 a.m.: Isaiah Salinda, Christiaan Bezuidenhout

11:04 a.m.: Cameron Smith, Wyndham Clark

11:15 a.m.: J.T. Poston, Tommy Fleetwood

11:31 a.m.: Shane Lowry, Zac Blair

11:42 a.m.: Billy Horschel, Chris Kirk

11:53 a.m.: Denny McCarthy, Min Woo Lee

12:04 p.m.: Neal Shipley (a), Luke Clanton (a)

12:15 p.m.: Sam Burns, Stephan Jaeger

12:26 p.m.: Brian Harman, Mark Hubbard

12:37 p.m.: David Puig, Thomas Detry

12:48 p.m.: Akshay Bhatia, Russell Henley

12:59 p.m.: Davis Thompson, Xander Schauffele

1:10 p.m.: Sergio Garcia, Taylor Pendrith

1:26 p.m.: Aaron Rai, Tom Kim

1:37 p.m.: Corey Conners, Collin Morikawa

1:48 p.m.: Tony Finau, Tyrrell Hatton

1:59 p.m.: Ludvig Aberg, Hideki Matsuyama

2:10 p.m.: Patrick Cantlay, Rory McIlroy

2:21 p.m.: Bryson DeChambeau, Matthieu Pavon


U.S. Open 101: Answering all your frequently asked questions

How to watch the 2024 U.S. Open

Power Rankings: Every player in the U.S. Open field, ranked

Video: Every hole at Pinehurst No. 2

The scariest green at Pinehurst, explained

What’s it like inside the rules office at a major? We got a glimpse

Is the USGA going to set up Pinehurst extra hard because of recent low scores in majors?

Tiger is playing Pinehurst on a special exemption. Here’s what it is and why he got it

What would you shoot at the U.S. Open? Our new tool will tell you

U.S. Open anchor sites are about far more than golf

The U.S. Open champion who died in a jail cell

The USGA is about to play its 1,000th championship. The best 9 stats from the first 999

Payne’s Pinehurst Moment: An oral history of the 1999 U.S. Open

This article was originally published on