The PGA Championship has never been a major where the phrase “par is your friend” necessarily applied. To wit: In the three previous visits the PGA of America has made to Valhalla Golf Club—1996, 2000 and 2014—the average winning score in relation to par has been 15 under. And each successive time the event has been held, the winning aggregate score has fallen.

Take a look for yourself:

1996 PGA: Mark Brooks, -11/277 (won playoff over Kenny Perry)

2000 PGA: Tiger Woods, -18/270 (won playoff over Bob May)

2014 PGA: Rory McIlroy, -16/268 (1 over Phil Mickelson)

What then is in store for those competing at the 2024 PGA Championship this coming week in Louisville, Ky.? We’re guessing a getable course that will see its fair share of birdies.

Below are the 154 players already in the field for the championship. Two spots are being held for the winner of the Wells Fargo Championship and the Myrtle Beach Classic if he hasn’t already qualified.

Tee times for the first and second rounds have yet to be set, but check back here and we’ll have them posted as soon as they go live.

Valhalla Golf Club Private Valhalla Golf Club Louisville, KY 4.6 102 Panelists

  • 100 Greatest
  • Best In State

Given a difficult piece of land on which to create Valhalla (half the site was floodplain, with high-tension power poles), Jack Nicklaus drew on his training under Pete Dye and Desmond Muirhead to produce a unique design, with an alternate fairway par 5, a par 4 with an island green and an 18th green shaped like a horseshoe. Over the decades, Nicklaus returned periodically to update its challenges, and the club rebuilt bunkers and replaced its soft bent grass fairways with firmer, faster zoysia in 2022. Valhalla has proven to be a great championship site. It has hosted three thrilling PGA Championships, the latest Rory McIlroy’s win in 2014, and will host a fourth in 2024. View Course

Ludvig Åberg

Byeong Hun An

Rich Beem

Josh Bevell (CP)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout

Akshay Bhatia

Alexander Björk

Zac Blair

Michael Block (CP)

Evan Bowser (CP)

Keegan Bradley

Dean Burmester

Sam Burns

Parick Cantlay

Wyndham Clark

Eric Cole

Preston Cole (CP)

Tyler Collet (CP)

Corey Conners

John Daly

Cameron Davis

More PGA Championship coverage PGA Ranking PGA Championship picks 2024: The 13 best bets to win at Valhalla Kentucky controversy At Valhalla Golf Club, new ownership’s big changes have drawn the ire and resignations of some longtime members Until Valahalla Golf Digest Logo The five holes at Valhalla that will decide who wins the 2024 PGA Championship

Jason Day

Bryson DeChambeau

Thomas Detry

Matt Dobyns (CP)

Luke Donald

Jason Dufner

Nick Dunlap

Austin Eckroat

Harris English

Tony Finau

Matthew Fitzpatrick

Tommy Fleetwood

Rickie Fowler

Ryan Fox

Brice Garnett

Lucas Glover

Talor Gooch

Ben Griffin

Emiliano Grillo

Larkin Gross (CP)

Adam Hadwin

Brian Harman

Padraig Harrington

Tyrrell Hatton

Russell Henley

Lucas Herbert

Ryo Hisatsune

Lee Hodges

Charley Hoffman

Tom Hoge

Nicolai Højgaard

Rasmus Højgaard

Max Homa

Billy Horschel

Rikuya Hoshino

Beau Hossler

Viktor Hovland

Mark Hubbard

Mackenzie Hughes

More PGA Championship coverage Voices An ode to Valhalla, and the thing it’s always delivered PGA Championship 2024 Can Rory McIlroy find himself again in march toward joining all-time greats? PGA Championship Was Tiger Woods’ mysterious bounce at the 2000 PGA Championship caused by fan interference? Investigating one of golf’s greatest conspiracy theories

Sungjae Im

Stephan Jaeger

Dustin Johnson

Jared Jones (CP)

Taukumi Kanaya

Martin Kaymer

Jeff Kellen (CP)

Si Woo Kim

Tom Kim

Chris Kirk

Kurt Kitayama

Jake Knapp

Kazuma Kobori

Brooks Koepka

Ben Kohles

Thirston Lawrence

K.H. Lee

Min Woo Lee

Luke List

Shane Lowry

Robert MacIntyre

Peter Malnati

Brad Marek (CP)

Hideki Matsuyama

Denny McCarthy

Rory McIlroy

Maverick McNealy

Kyle Mendoza

Adrian Meronk

Shaun Micheel

Phil Mickelson

Keith Mitchell

Franceso Molinari

More PGA Championship coverage PGA Championship preview The most ‘PGA’ moments in PGA Championship history PGA Championship 101 PGA Championship 2024: Answering the most frequently asked questions about the year’s second major The More You Know For the last time, the PGA Championship is NOT run by the PGA Tour: An idiot’s guide to who runs what in golf

Taylor Montgomery

Taylor Moore

Collin Morikawa

Jesse Mueller (CP)

Grayson Murray

Keita Nakajima

Joaquin Niemann

Alex Noren

Vincent Norrman

Zac Oakley (CP)

Andy Ogletree

Thorbjorn Olesen

Adrian Otaegui

Matthieu Pavon

Taylor Pendrith

Victor Perez

Tracy Phillips (CP)

Ben Polland (CP)

J.T. Poston

David Puig

Andrew Putnam

Jon Rahm

Aaron Rai

Patrick Reed

Patrick Rodgers

Justin Rose

Xander Schauffele

Scottie Scheffler

Adam Schenk

Adam Scott

Braden Shattuck (CP)

Cameron Smith

Jordan Smith

Sebastian Soderberg

John Somers (CP)

Josh Speight (CP)

Jordan Spieth

Sepp Straka

Steve Stricker

Adam Svensson

Jesper Svensson

Andy Svoboda (CP)

Nick Taylor

Sahith Theegala

Justin Thomas

Brendon Todd

Alejandro Tosti

Sami Valimaki

Erik van Rooyen

Ryan van Velzen

Camilo Villegas

Jimmy Walker

Matt Wallace

Jeremy Wells (CP)

Tim Widing

Gary Woodland

Tiger Woods

Wyatt Worthington II (CP)

Y.E. Yang

Cameron Young

Will Zalatoris

(cp) = PGA of America Club Professional

This article was originally published on